Our team

Message from the school director

 

Dear Families,

 

On behalf of the board of trustees, faculty, and staff of Bushwick Ascend, I extend a warm welcome! We recognize that you chose where to enroll your scholar—one of the most important decisions you will make as a parent or guardian—and we are honored that you have selected Bushwick Ascend. Your choice represents your faith in us, and we are firmly committed to maintaining your trust.

 

We look forward to working with you to fulfill our vision of educational excellence for every scholar, understanding that your support is crucial to our success. Research has revealed a clear link between family involvement and academic performance, and we seek to leverage that power to realize each child's full potential. This website is just one of many tools to help us share information and best support your child on the path to college.

 

Thank you again for choosing Bushwick Ascend. We have an exciting and productive year ahead of us!

 

Sincerely,

Zelda Washington

School Director

 

Culture at Ascend

Click here for a staff list of who to go for whatThe best way to contact Bushwick Ascend staff is by email.  Please expect staff to reply to emails or return calls within 24 hours.

Haga un clic en este enlace para una lista de a quien le pido informaciónLa mejor manera de ponerse en contacto al personal de Bushwick Ascend es por correo electrónico. Favor de esperar que el personal responderé a sus mensajes o devolveré a sus llamadas entre 24 horas.

Our leadership team

 

School Director

Zelda Washington

zelda.washington@ascendlearning.org


Director of Operations

Pascale Artamin

pascale.artamin@ascendlearning.org

 

Dean of Students, Grades K - 2

Araliza Lopez

araliza.lopez@ascendlearning.org

Dean of Students, Grades 3 - 4

Zia Hinds

zia.hinds@ascendlearning.org

Our staff

Dean of Instruction, K-2

Lisa Roach

lisa.roach@ascendlearning.org

Dean of Instruction, Grade 3

Jillian Cantor

jillian.cantor@ascendlearning.org

Dean of Instruction, Grade 4

Zarah Obrera

zarah.obrera@ascendlearning.org

Kindergarten

KA

Kathryn Pennington

kathryn.pennington@ascendlearning.org

Maria Abalahin

maria.abalahin@ascendlearning.org

KB

Amanda Basedow

amanda.basedow@ascendlearning.org​

Brianna Dumpson

brianna.dumpson@ascendlearning.org

KC

Phyllis Patrick

phyllis.patrick@ascendlearning.org

Krystal Lane

krystal.lane@ascendlearning.org

KD

Kathariena Gittens

kathierena.gittens@ascendlearning.org

Sophie Weil-Roth

sophie.weilroth@ascendlearning.org

ENL Teacher

Selamawit Thomas

selamawit.thomas@ascendlearning.org

Grade 3

3A

Chanmi Lee

chanmi.lee@ascendlearning.org

3B

Tiara Watson

tiara.watson@ascendlearning.org

Kristin Green

kristin.green@ascendlearning.org

3C

Sara-Regine Dolne

sararegine.dolne@ascendlearning.org

3D

Shane Tucker-Browne

shane.tuckerbrowne@ascendlearning.org

Jacqueline Marshall

jacqueline.flowersmarshall@ascendlearning.org

ENL Teacher

Yeydy De La Cruz

yeydy.delacruz@ascendlearning.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Science

Teachers

Selamawit Thomas, Kindergarten

selamawit.thomas@ascendlearning.org

Michele Henry, 1-2

michele.henry@ascendlearning.org

Farah Taha, 3-4

farah.taha@ascendlearning.org

Grade 1
 

1A

Raquel Beckford

raquel.beckford@ascendlearning.org

Nooria Faiz

nooria.faiz@ascendlearning.org

1B

Cassandra Calypso

cassandra.calypso@ascendlearning.org

Tessa Westfall

tessa.westfall@ascendlearning.org

1C

Shanice Morris

shanice.morris@ascendlearning.org

Anum Khan

anum.khan@ascendlearning.org

1D

Shanah Worley

shanah.worley@ascendlearning.org

Janet Ramirez

janet.ramirez@ascendlearning.org

ENL Teacher

TBD

Grade 4

4A

Sally Demosthene

sally.demosthene@ascendlearning.org

Elizabeth Sawicki

elizabeth.sawicki@ascendlearning.org

4B

Janet Akerele

janet.akerele@ascendlearning.org

Chloe Miksovic

chloe.miksovic@ascendlearning.org

4C

Colette Brown

colette.stapleton@ascendlearning.org

4D

Shaquana Johnson

shaquana.johnson@ascendlearning.org

Arianna Carmona

arianna.carmona@ascendlearning.org

 

ENL Teacher

Chloe Miksovic

chloe.miksovic@ascendlearning.org

 

 

Specials

Teachers

Carlos Warner, Physical Education

carlos.warner@ascendlearning.org

James Zenger, Music

james.zenger@ascendlearning.org

Christina Fontanarosa, Dance

christina.fontanarosa@ascendlearning.org

Tiffany Armstrong-Clarke, Art

tiffany.clarke@ascendlearning.org

Grade 2
 

2A

Marion Royes

marion.royes@ascendlearning.org

Jessica Joseph

jessica.joseph@ascendlearning.org

2B

Emily Nascimento

emily.nascimento@ascendlearning.org

2C

Lia Broomes

lia.broomes@ascendlearning.org

2D

April Jackson

april.jackson@ascendlearning.org

Louisa Lindgren

louisa.lindgren@ascendlearning.org

ENL Teacher

Kristine Witko

kristine.witko@ascendlearning.org

 
Student Services Team

Student Services Coordinator

Hannah Slater

hannah.slater@ascendlearning.org

Social Worker, K-4

Mary Borys

mary.borys@ascendlearning.org

Special Education Teacher, ELA SETTS/Intervention, K-2

Alicia Cuomo

alicia.cuomo@ascendlearning.org

Special Education Teacher, ELA SETTS/Intervention, 3-4

Patricia Avila

patricia.avila@ascendlearning.org

Special Education Teacher, Math SETTS/Intervention, K-2

Cyre Soto

cyre.soto@ascendlearning.org

Special Education Teacher, Math SETTS/Intervention, 3-4

Tabitha Kennedy

tabitha.kennedy@ascendlearning.org

 

Culture Associates

Shanoya Belcher

shanoya.belcher@ascendlearning.org

Nickeisha Bennett

nickeisha.bennett@ascendlearning.org

Tamilia Parris

tamilia.parris@ascendlearning.org

 
Operations

Operations Manager

Lisa Bravo

lisa.bravo@ascendlearning.org

Operations Academic Associate

Jennivieve Arjune

jennivieve.arjune@ascendlearning.org

Operations Associate

Juan Brito

juan.brito@ascendlearning.org

Operations Associate

Raymond Arroyo

raymond.arroyo@ascendlearning.org

Security

Ricardo Francis

ricardo.francis@ascendlearning.org