Our team

Message from the school director

 

Dear Families,

 

On behalf of the board of trustees, faculty, and staff of Bushwick Ascend, I extend a warm welcome! We recognize that you chose where to enroll your scholar—one of the most important decisions you will make as a parent or guardian—and we are honored that you have selected Bushwick Ascend. Your choice represents your faith in us, and we are firmly committed to maintaining your trust.

 

We look forward to working with you to fulfill our vision of educational excellence for every scholar, understanding that your support is crucial to our success. Research has revealed a clear link between family involvement and academic performance, and we seek to leverage that power to realize each child's full potential. This website is just one of many tools to help us share information and best support your child on the path to college.

 

Thank you again for choosing Bushwick Ascend. We have an exciting and productive year ahead of us!

 

Sincerely,

Zelda Washington

School Director

 

Culture at Ascend

Click here for a staff list of who to go for whatThe best way to contact Bushwick Ascend staff is by email.  Please expect staff to reply to emails or return calls within 24 hours.

Haga un clic en este enlace para una lista de a quien le pido informaciónLa mejor manera de ponerse en contacto al personal de Bushwick Ascend es por correo electrónico. Favor de esperar que el personal responderé a sus mensajes o devolveré a sus llamadas entre 24 horas.

Our leadership team

 

Principal

Zelda Washington

zelda.washington@ascendlearning.org


Assistant Principal of Operations

Pascale Artamin

pascale.artamin@ascendlearning.org

 

Assistant Principal

Araliza Lopez

araliza.lopez@ascendlearning.org

Assistant Principal, K-2

Lisa Roach

lisa.roach@ascendlearning.org

Assistant Principal, 3-4

Zarah Obrera

zarah.obrera@ascendlearning.org

Our staff
Kindergarten

KA

Cyre Soto

cyre.soto@ascendlearning.org

Maria Abalahin

maria.abalahin@ascendlearning.org

KB

Kathariena Gittens

kathierena.gittens@ascendlearning.org

Kristine Witko

kristine.witko@ascendlearning.org

KC

Krystal Lane

krystal.lane@ascendlearning.org

Phyllis Patrick

phyllis.patrick@ascendlearning.org

KD

Maureen LaMarca

maureen.lamarca@ascendlearning.org 

Sophie Weil-Roth

sophie.weilroth@ascendlearning.org

Grade 3

3A

Shane Tucker-Browne

shane.tuckerbrowne@ascendlearning.org

Jacqueline Marshall

jacqueline.flowersmarshall@ascendlearning.org

 

3B

Kristin Green

kristin.green@ascendlearning.org

3C

Sara-Regine Dolne

sararegine.dolne@ascendlearning.org

3D

Chanmi Lee

chanmi.lee@ascendlearning.org

Student Services Team

Student Services Coordinator

Hannah Slater

hannah.slater@ascendlearning.org

Social Worker, K-4

Mary Borys

mary.borys@ascendlearning.org

Social Worker, K-4

Roberta Legrant

robert.legrant@ascendlearning.org

Grade 1
 

1A

Janet Ramirez

janet.ramirez@ascendlearning.org

Shanah Worley

shanah.worley@ascendlearning.org

1B

Cassandra Calypso

cassandra.calypso@ascendlearning.org

Jordan Kullback

jordan.kullback@ascendlearning.org

 

1C

Amanda Basedow

amanda.basedow@ascendlearning.org​

Shanice Morris

shanice.morris@ascendlearning.org

1D

Raquel Beckford

raquel.beckford@ascendlearning.org

Tessa Westfall

tessa.westfall@ascendlearning.org

Grade 4

4A

Elizabeth Sawicki

elizabeth.sawicki@ascendlearning.org

Shaquana Johnson

shaquana.johnson@ascendlearning.org

4B

Janet Akerele

janet.akerele@ascendlearning.org

Chloe Miksovic

chloe.miksovic@ascendlearning.org

4C

Colette Brown

colette.stapleton@ascendlearning.org

4D

Arianna Carmona

arianna.carmona@ascendlearning.org

Special Education Teacher, SETTS

Alicia Cuomo

alicia.cuomo@ascendlearning.org

Special Education Teacher, SETTS

Tabitha Kennedy

tabitha.kennedy@ascendlearning.org

ENL Teacher

Lauren Kate Thompson

lauren.thompson@ascendlearning.org

Grade 2
 

2A

Jessica Joseph

jessica.joseph@ascendlearning.org

Marion Royes

marion.royes@ascendlearning.org

​​

2B

Emily Nascimento

emily.nascimento@ascendlearning.org

2C

Lia Broomes

lia.broomes@ascendlearning.org

2D

April Jackson

april.jackson@ascendlearning.org

Mentor Teachers

Zia Hinds, K-2

zia.hinds@ascendlearning.org

Jillian Cantor, 3-4

jillian.cantor@ascendlearning.org

Science

Teachers

Christina Fontanarosa, KG

christina.fontanarosa@ascendlearning.org

Michele Henry, 1-2

michele.henry@ascendlearning.org

Farah Taha, 3-4

farah.taha@ascendlearning.org

Specials

Teachers

Carlos Warner, Physical Education

carlos.warner@ascendlearning.org

James Zenger, Music

james.zenger@ascendlearning.org

Tiffany Armstrong-Clarke, Art

tiffany.clarke@ascendlearning.org

Culture Associate

Tamilia Parris

tamilia.parris@ascendlearning.org

 
Operations

Operations Manager

Lisa Bravo

lisa.bravo@ascendlearning.org

Operations Associate

Juan Brito

juan.brito@ascendlearning.org

Security

Ricardo Francis

ricardo.francis@ascendlearning.org